User group management

A User group is essentially a collection of users that enables the following benefits:

  • Manage permissions for multiple users at a time by assigning roles to a user group.
  • Simplify user permission administration across multiple accounts via a single group.

Note: Only users with an Admin account role can create and manage user groups.

Add user groups

To add a new user group:

  1. In User Management, select the Groups tab.
  2. Click Manage User, and then select New Group.
  3. On the Details tab, provide the following information:
    1. Group Name
    2. Description
    3. Role

      The Permissions and Access section will automatically populate with the applicable information for the selected role.

  4. On the Users tab, you can add users to the user group by selecting the user from the Users drop-down menu, typing an email address, or adding a new user.
  5. Click Create Group.
Note: User groups can be created and saved with only the users or only the account role for the group specified. User groups are not assigned to your account until a role is selected for the group.

Edit and delete user groups

To edit or delete an existing user group:

  1. For the applicable user group, click the menu icon in the Action column of the Users table.
  2. To edit the user group, select Edit Group.
  3. To delete a user group, you can either:
    • Click Remove Group from the Actions menu; or
    • Click Edit Group, and then click the Delete Group button.

Global groups

Forescout Cloud Operations creates Global Groups to manage permissions for internal functions like customer success, 24/7 security monitoring (Assist), etc. You can add and remove Global Groups from your account.

Important considerations

The following is important to note about User Groups:

  • A user group can contain many users, and a user can belong to multiple user groups.
  • User groups can't be nested; they can contain only users, not other user groups.
  • Customers can add/remove both regular and global groups from their accounts. Users access the platform the same way whether they are part of a group or no user's individual account role supersedes the account role of a group to which they belong (i.e., if an Admin user belongs to a group with Operator privileges the user will continue to have Admin privileges).